Banana Bread to Start the day

Hope you all enjoyed the day off with some fireworks, a barbecue, or some sun at the beach, or however you chose to celebrate the holiday. I have to say I was able to control my eating yesterday at the barbecue. I didn’t devour everything in sight like I normally would have – so kudos to this new paleo lifestyle! I was able to maintain self-control and stayed right on track (except I have to say I did have a minor slip up – I did have a pretzel stick or two…) 

To detox a bit, I had two tablespoons of organic apple cider vinegar (Bragg’s) with 16 ounces of water. Usually I would have it before dinner or a meal if I forget to drink it in the morning (it helps digestion or something – I probably should look more into this..) So for breakfast, I had a bunch of bananas that were already over ripened and with too many of them to eat, I figured what can I do with them? – banana bread. Perfect. Found a recipe from Civilized Caveman Cooking just following the recipe straight through.Image

 

After I put it in the oven I realized I would have liked to put some crushed pecans or walnuts in. There’s always next time, I guess. 

Image

 

 Also I couldn’t find my loaf pan so I put it in a small casserole dish. Same thing. Except I didn’t know how to serve it, so I cut it into these awkward brownie like pieces. Still delicious, but I do wish I had put in those crushed pecans.

2 thoughts on “Banana Bread to Start the day

    • No I haven’t tried it actually! I don’t own a coffee grinder but I can probably get the same result with a food processor. Will definitely look into this!

Leave a Reply

