Sundried Tomato Turkey Scotch Eggs & Giveaway Winner!

Scotch Eggs has been one of those dishes that has been a tradition in the household. My grandma makes the most delicious pork scotch eggs, with a sauce that I cannot begin to imagine. I remember the egg yolk so creamy with the ground pork mixture on top, drenched in the sauce, it makes me salivate just thinking about it. But I have not been able to relive those happy days ever since becoming paleo. Therefore I’ve had to start from scratch and rebuild a new recipe.

Image

Ingredients:

  • 2-2.5 pounds ground turkey
  • 10 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground garlic
  • 1 cup sundried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • salt and pepper

First boil 9 eggs. While boiling, start preparing the turkey mixture.

Preheat the oven to 375 F. In a large bowl, mix the remaining egg (whisked), salt and pepper, sundried tomatoes, basil, and ground ginger. I like to use my hands when mixing to make sure everything’s in there evenly mixed. Once the eggs are boiled, remove the egg shells and set aside. To cover the eggs, I scooped a handful of ground turkey and flattened it into a large patty. Then I set the egg in the middle and then wrapped the turkey mixture around to cover the egg. After all 9 are wrapped, I set the oven timer to 25 minutes and let it bake. I served it with a side of brussel sprouts since I did not have time to prepare a sauce. These would definitely go with any tomato sauce you prefer.

I intended to make this as a breakfast dish this morning. But seeing I work up late and did not feel like making a long breakfast, I decided to push this to dinner instead. That said, this is great for breakfast or dinner! Win win.

I really love the flavor of this, mainly from the sundried tomato in the turkey. This can certainly be used as a meatball recipe with all the flavor combinations.  I know I definitely will on those days I do not feel like boiling eggs beforehand. (Whatever less work I have to do to prepare dinner, count me in)

Also…the giveaway has ended. I have been contacted that the winner is Anne Marie! Congratulations! I have contacted you and you will receive your prize to sample the Bare Fruits product very shortly!!

One thought on “Sundried Tomato Turkey Scotch Eggs & Giveaway Winner!

Leave a Reply

