Larabars Product Review

Image

 

Stacy at Larabar was kind enough to send me a few of the products to sample and review! Larabars are made from mostly dates and nuts. They are soy free, dairy free, and gluten free. I love these as a pre-yoga snack because it gives me the perfect amount of energy without making me feel bloated. They come in many different flavors, more than the four flavors that were sent – they can be found on the website here – http://www.larabar.com/products

As for a review of the product, my least favorite out of the ones sent to me was Lemon Bar. The lemon flavoring was added through natural lemon flavor and lemon juice concentrate. To me it wasn’t natural enough and had a dull lemon flavor – not the tangy and very distinct taste that you get when added to certain dishes. The lemon flavor also overpowered the dates, cashews, and almonds, which were the remaining ingredients of the bar. It just tasted like a mush of dates, cashews, and almonds that were lemon flavored. Not a fan of this.

Next was the apple pie. This was better, but not as good as expected since I LOVE everything apple. Although the apple flavoring is added through unsweetened apple, I felt like the apple flavoring wasn’t brought out enough. It was overshadowed by the other ingredients – raisins, almonds, walnuts, dates, and cinnamon. I would have loved it more if the apple flavor was more prominent.

The coconut cream pie was my favorite. Simple – dates, unsweetened coconut, almonds, cashews, and extra virgin coconut oil. I love the shredded coconut pieces in the bar because it gives the perfect amount of coconut flavor. The date and coconut flavors were also well balanced, which was something that lacked in the others.

Lastly, the cashew cookie was also one of my favorites. Just two ingredients – cashews and dates. Not much to it since it is just two ingredients mixed together, but the simplicity itself is part of what makes the greatness. 

I have to get around trying the other flavored ones..but be careful. There are several flavors containing peanuts – Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter & Jelly, which are not paleo.

One thought on “Larabars Product Review

  1. Pingback: Camping, Cameras, and Homemade Larabars | Fearless Food & Fitness

Leave a Reply

