Italian Meatloaf

Original recipe is courtesy of PaleOMG – found here

Image

 

Meatloaf always didn’t appeal to me. But wow, this recipe has put a whole new perspective on meatloaf for me. I’ve become obsessed and would totally eat this everyday. (or maybe not..I was just exaggerating a bit there). The softness (and moistness – I know, everyone hates this word) which is different than a regular meatball just crumbles in your mouth. Yum. Anyways, I put a different spin on this recipe, just a bit.

The original recipe can be found on the link I posted above, but here are the changes I’ve made.

For the meatloaf

  • 1lb grass fed ground beef
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup sundried tomatoes, chopped
  • ¼ cup tomato sauce (made myself – recipe below)
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • ¾ cup almond flour
  • 1 teaspoon fresh basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon fresh parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • salt and pepper, to taste

As for the tomato sauce, I cut up one medium/large sized tomato and put it in a hot skillet. Put a bit of water and a tablespoon or so of tomato paste. Threw in some fresh basil, thyme, salt and pepper and let it simmer to a sauce-like consistency. After the sauce was ready, in a large bowl, combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Then put into a loaf pan or pyrex dish and bake. Mine took an hour at 375 F in a loaf pan but I doubled the recipe for 2 pounds of ground beef. So just change the baking time accordingly. This was one of the easiest dinner – takes 5-10 minutes prep time total and then your dinner will be ready shortly. Great for leftovers for lunch to take to work the next day – big plus for me. 

2 thoughts on “Italian Meatloaf

  1. Pingback: Paleo Meatloaf Recipes: The Best 49 Recipes arranged by categories

  2. Pingback: The Best Paleo Meatloaf Recipes

Leave a Reply

